Forum

Welcome Guest 

Show/Hide Header

Welcome Guest, posting in this forum requires registration.

Pages: 1
Author Topic: Bridal Show survival tips?

NewbieMarie-Eve
Bridal Show survival tips?
on: January 10, 2014, 11:43

Hi everyone!
I'm a newbie in a smallish town (45 000) where I appear to be the only calligrapher for now. I just registered for my second bridal show. I attended one last November, although it was a small affair. This one will likely be bigger and better organized. I have taken a few notes of things to do better/differently after the last one, but I was wondering what you veterans have to say about that subject?

I found that last time, there was a lot of education to do. A lot of people just didn't know what calligraphy was and I was genuinely surprised at how many times I had to specify that nothing they could see on my table was done with a computer. So I had a lot of fun talking about it, but nothing much came out of it.

What are your best tips, words of advice, if you care to share? I am very new, I do not digitize anything as computers are really not my forte, and I am just starting, so I'm not sure that offering big promotions is the way to go right now? I really want to slowly build a local clientele... And just make it through the day, as I am a raging introvert. 😀

So I'll gratefully accept any survival tips and advice! What works for you? What doesn't? Thank you in advance!

Marie-Eve

Newbietinapham
Re: Bridal Show survival tips?
on: January 11, 2014, 21:38

I'm not sure if I can offer any real tips regarding bridal shows, but something that I felt was really helpful (from one introvert to another) is to have some sort of packet to give out. Nothing big, just a little brochure or sample of your work with contact info. Just something tangible.